Northeast 08-19-08

Student Ambassadors win two national leadership awards

The 2007-08 Northeast State Student Ambassadors were honored with two awards during the Association of Student Advancement Programs (ASAP) Network Convention held in August at Salt Lake City.

The Ambassadors, dubbed Team Horizon, received the Outstanding Internal Program Award for AMB-101 Student Ambassadors Orientation and Peer Mentor Training.  AMB-101 was a continuing education unit course developed by Northeast State Director of Scholarships, Greg Walters, to train the Ambassadors for their year of membership.  Team Horizon also received the Outstanding Organization Award in the Student Ambassadors category from ASAP.  This was the fourth Outstanding Organization Award earned by the Ambassadors at the national level since 1996.


Ambassadors President Joe Harris represented the Northeast State in Salt Lake City and presented two workshops for convention delegates. The first presentation discussed the AMB-101 course while the second recounted the preparation for the Ambassadors’ annual Parking Lot Sale.


ASAP is a program within the Council for Advancement and Support of Education ( The program functions at more than 300 institutions of higher education across the nation.


Team Horizon was comprised of students David Bray, Rachel Brown, Kim Coalson, Beverley Ehrhart, Tiffany Harrald, Joe Harris, Brad Ketron, Karen Liechti, Amanda Noe, Deb Oglesby, Amanda Patterson, Laura Simpson, Caitlin Trent, Jorane Thomas, Benji Webster, and Jeremy Williams.