Northeast State closed July 3 to observe Independence Day holiday

Northeast State Technical Community College will be closed on Friday, July 3 in observance of the Independence Day holiday.

The College’s main campus at Blountville will be closed as will Northeast State at Elizabethton, Northeast State at Elizabethton, the Regional Center for Applied Technology, and the Regional Center for Health Professions in Kingsport.

All Northeast State offices will open and operate at regular hours on Monday, July 6.


Northeast State students continue to surpass national scores

The quality of Northeast State Community College’s general education program was recently affirmed through its performance on an annual exit exam, which was completed by students graduating from the institution in May.

For the eighth year out of the last nine years, the College ranked at or above the national average as compared to other peer community college on the MAPP exit exam.

“Northeast State’s results are indicative of the quality of education students receive at the College,” said William Wilson, Dean of Humanities and chair of the General Education Committee. “The results showcase the College’s commitment to providing outstanding academic programs and support services to our region. What is more important is that we are consistently maintaining the quality of our general education courses.”

The MAPP exam tested more than 600 students on in seven primary areas: humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, college-level reading, college-level writing, critical thinking, and mathematics. Students tested scored above 95 percent in each academic area.

The test allows Northeast State to examine its strengths and weaknesses when compared to the College’s peer institutions throughout the country and make changes as necessary to continually improve the quality of instruction and learning.


Northeast State name change accepted by TBR

The name has changed but the dedication to “technical” education remains as strong as ever.

Northeast State Community College and four other community colleges in the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) system have dropped the “Technical” from their institutional names. The name change officially occurred with legislation passed by the state legislature and signed into law by Gov. Phil Bredesen earlier this month. The name change also affects Chattanooga State Technical Community College, Southwest Tennessee Community College in Memphis, Pellissippi State Technical Community College in Knoxville, and Nashville State Technical Community College.

The TBR approved the name change during the board’s quarterly meeting on June 19. Northeast State and the other schools are comprehensive community colleges offering technical programs, university parallel programs and community service programs. The name change reflects an institution serving the community in both academic and vocational-technical training. Expenditures for the name changes will come from the institutions’ existing revenues, according to a fiscal note on the legislation. The colleges will be allowed to phase out items such as stationery.

The change was accepted by all five institutions. The eight other community colleges in the TBR system – Cleveland State, Columbia State, Dyersburg State, Jackson State, Motlow State, Roane State, Volunteer State, and Walters State – do not have “Technical” in their school names.


Northeast State WIA students honored

High school students participating in the Workforce Investment Act program through Northeast State Technical Community College were honored in May for their work as students and graduating seniors.

The Workforce Investment Act Youth Grant Program is a cooperative effort between local high schools and Northeast State to provide educational and employment assistance to qualified high school students. Selected students are initially interviewed by high school faculty members and evaluated for acceptance into the program. Students were selected from participating high schools in Sullivan County and Dobyns-Bennett High School. Students honored from each participating high school were:

Sullivan South: Ashley Bragg-Tate, Angel Collins, Amber Gates, Brittany Gragg, Zach Hill, Kirsten Jones, Brittany Lawson, Rachel Lawson, Emily Long, J.T. Lyons, Erica Matthews, Kayla Matthews, Ashley McInturff, Matt Moore, Rayce Powell, Skylar Quillen, Mindy Rutledge, Torren Trowbridge, Cammy Vanhuss, Tina Webb, Jama Whetsel, and Brittany Wilson. Sullivan Central: Rachel Bowers, Trista Bowers, Kayla Canter, Lee Day, Brandon Derrick, Dustin Duty, Brandon Keller, Steven Lawrence, Travis Looney, Tessa McClellan, Whitney Parkison, Amanda Reynolds, Monique Short, Amanda Smith, Michael Shelton, Jeremy Thornburg, Kacy Tiller, and David Vaughn.

Sullivan East: Josie Alexander, Jerry Alford, Labranda Allen, Petra Clay, Steven Cornett, Kendra Cox, Jodi Dollar, Issac Guy, Carmen Harris, Jessical Hilst, Jessica Holt, Amanda Jones, Jonathan King, Corinne Leonard, Chlorisa Lowery, Michael O’Dell, Noah Osborne, Ashley Rivenbark, Andy Rogers, Harlie Smith, Dona Stiltner, Britany Taylor, Matthew Thomas, Nancy Venable, Travis Wilson, and Julia Wright.

Dobyns-Bennett: Caron Boatwright, Sylvoski Bogus, Casery Bradley, Rachel Bradley, Jerry Carter, Rebekah Cray, Darius Davis, Amber Dean, Mark Erwin, Brandi Franklin, Tyyonna Grady, Rosa Guitterez, Tina Guy, Donjuan Hale, Erico Henry, Dalvin Hughes, Tequis Hutcherson, Matoya King, Samantha Lawrence, Beth LeBlanc, Bentley Leeper, Sergio Leeper, Gregory Lovelace, Steven Lovelace, Jonathan MacCalla, Phillip Mbarathi, Curtis Miller, Mercedes Pierce, Jessica Smith, Quintessa Snapp, Joy Stewart, Albert Tachi, Scott Tate, Thomas Tatchi, Contessa Tharp, Myles Triplett, Charles Ward, and Shukeya Williams.

All 18 graduating seniors at Sullivan South and 16 from Sullivan East planned to enter college following graduation. Fourteen of 15 graduates from both Sullivan Central and Dobyns-Bennett high schools were also planning to enter college this fall.

Created in 1998 to replace the Job Training Partnership Act, WIA funds workforce development activities and provides one-stop, universal access system to training and employment services for a range of individuals, including low-income adults, low-income youth, and dislocated workers.