Tuition and Fees

Credit and Audit Course Costs - Each student registering for college courses on a credit or audit basis pays maintenance fees, a campus access fee, a student activity fee, and a technology fee each semester. In addition, if the student is not domiciled in Tennessee, out-of-state tuition is also charged. Contact the Business Office for current fee rates.

Fee Rates - Tennessee Residents

Part-time (fewer than 12 hours)  
Maintenance Fee   $139 per credit hour
Campus Access Fee   $5 per semester
Student Activity Fee   $23 per semester
Technology Access Fee   $12 per credit hour, $113 maximum
 
Full-time (12 or more credit hours)  
Maintenance Fee 1-12 credit hours   $139 per credit hour
Maintenance Fee 13 or more hours   $28 per credit hour
Campus Access Fee   $5 per semester
Student Activity Fee   $23 per semester
Technology Access Fee   $12 per credit hour, $113 maximum

Fee Rates - Non-State Residents**

Part-time (fewer than 12 hours)      
Maintenance Fee   $139 per credit hour
Out-of-state Tuition   $435 per credit hour
Campus Access Fee   $5 per semester
Student Activity Fee   $23 per semester
Technology Access Fee   $12 per credit hour, $113 maximum
 
Full-time (12 or more credit hours)  
Maintenance Fee 1-12 credit hours   $139 per credit hour
Maintenance Fee 13 or more hours   $28 per credit hour
Out-of-state Tuition 1-12 credit hours   $435 per credit hour
Out-of-State Tuition 13 or more hours   $87 per credit hour
Campus Access Fee   $5 per semester
Student Activity Fee   $23 per semester
Technology Access Fee   $12 per credit hour, $113 maximum

*Fees are subject to change by the Tennessee Board of Regents. All fees are calculated on the per hour charges per credit hours taken.

**Students are classified as resident or non-resident by the Office of Admissions and Records for the purpose of assessing tuition charges. The definition of residency as determined by the Tennessee Board of Regents will apply. A student once classified as an out-of-state student will continue to be thus classified unless a change of legal residence is established by evidence other than presence as a student. The burden of proof of all conditions pertaining to residence is placed upon the student, including the responsibility for submission of documentation required by Northeast State. If there is any question as to in-state residency at the time of registration, the student will be classified as out-of-state and will be charged out-of-state tuition. Information about residency classification may be obtained from the Office of Admissions and Records. Students have the right to appeal the assignment of residency status to the Vice President for Student Affairs.

FEES FOR DISABLED AND SENIOR CITIZENS

Disabled or 60 years old or older who are domiciled in Tennessee may enroll in classes for "audit" without payment of maintenance, technology, or student activity fees. They are subject to the $5.00 campus access fee.

Disabled or 65 years old or older who are domiciled in Tennessee may enroll in classes for "credit" for a fee equal to 50% of the per hour rate with a maximum of $70. This fee includes Tuition only.

Note: In order to qualify for the disability waiver a statement of continuing benefits must be submitted to the Office of the Vice President for Business Affairs each semester.

   

1 credit hr  

 

2 or more credit hrs  

Maintenance Fee  

69.50

 

70.00

Technology fee  

0.50

 

0.00

Student Activity Fee  

0.00

 

0.00

Total Service Fee  

70.00

 

70.00

Campus Access Fee  

5.00

 

5.00

Total Fees  

75.00

 

75.00

 

Last updated: 07/19/2012