Institutional Honors

*Financially supported by Student Activity Fees

Division of Student Development 
Campus:  Blountville
Office:  Dean of Student Development
Room:  C2110, General Studies Building
Office Hours:  8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
Address:  2425 Highway 75, P.O. Box 246, Blountville, TN 37617
Phone:  423.354.5120 or 423.354.5232
Fax:  423.323.0240

  • Institutional Honors LogoBe proud of yourself
  • Congratulate your peers
  • Celebrate your achievements
  • Update your résumé

Recognizing significant milestones and celebrating accomplishments are important aspects of the educational experience at Northeast State Community College. The College administers and awards various institutional honors to students, faculty, staff, and alumni that reflect their commitment to excellence in academics and service.

Each year Northeast State Community College recognizes an exemplary adult student who is enrolled in an educational program to enhance or improve his/her educational credentials. The Adult Learner of the Year Award honors a student who achieves high performance within the program of study; demonstrates good citizenship; exhibits personal desire and motivation; and meets one or more of the social definitions of adulthood: married, a parent, or self-supporting.

Students are nominated for the award by faculty and staff. The award is sponsored by the Division of Student Services, and the recipient is selected by an ad hoc committee from the Northeast State community. Priority consideration is given to individuals who have overcome significant obstacles in the pursuit of their academic and career goals.

Recipients of the Adult Learner of the Year Award include:

  • 2017-18 – Monica L. Tucker
  • 2016-17 – Konah Buckman
  • 2015-16 – Alicia N. Blasini
  • 2014-15 – Paul E. Taylor III
  • 2013-14 – Willie J. Riddle 
  • 2012-13 – Elizabeth S. Ross 
  • 2011-12 – Joshua A. Johnson 
  • 2010-11 – Sandra M. Bullins 
  • 2009-10 – Larry H. Templeton 
  • 2008-09 – Yuezhu Liu 
  • 2007-08 – Beverley R. Ehrhart 
  • 2006-07 – Lisa D. Kilby Adams 
  • 2005-06 – Wendi J. Pickel 
  • 2004-05 – Judith V. Shannon 
  • 2003-04 – Leona C. Holman 
  • 2002-03 – Debra M. Stout 
  • 2001-02 – B. Joyce Hyder Sweeney 
  • 2000-01 – Leigh M. Fox 
  • 1999-00 – Melanie R. Highsmith 
  • 1998-99 – Mitzi L. Gibson 
  • 1997-98 – Connie J. Goddard 
  • 1996-97 – P. Darlene Jolly 

Administered by the Tennessee Region of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, the All-Tennessee Community College Academic Team recognizes outstanding students from each of the state’s community colleges. The All-Tennessee team is one of 38 All-State Academic Teams sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa at the national level. Recipients of All-State honors are then placed in competition for the All-USA Community College Academic Team and the Coca-Cola Community College Team. The All-USA team is presented by USA TODAY.

Nominees are selected from students scheduled to complete associate degrees during the academic year of nomination with GPAs ranging from 3.5 to 4.0, who make significant service contributions to the College or community, and who meet national eligibility criteria. Northeast State recipients include:

  • 2018
    Paige A. DiPirro
    Dakoda E. Goodwin                                                    
    Monica L. Tucker
  • 2017 
    Nathan P. Carrier 
    Shannon D. Yerton
  • 2016
    Victoria G. Hewlett (Coca-Cola New Century Scholar for Tennessee)
    Paul E. Taylor III (Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Gold Scholar)
  • 2015
    Emmaline H. Bragg (Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar)
    David J. Shepherd (Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Gold Scholar)
  • 2014
    Olivia A. Orten (Coca-Cola New Century Scholar for Tennessee)
    Nikki D. Sumner (Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Silver Scholar)
  • 2013
    Elizabeth S. Ross
    Anne N. Rowell
  • 2012
    A. Kelly Stapleton
    Brittany L. Thomas (Coca-Cola New Century Scholar for Tennessee and All-USA Community College Academic Team)
  • 2011
    Brittany N. Boone
    F. Lee Boyd II
  • 2010
    April M. Barrett (Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Gold Scholar)
    Jennifer N. Miller
  • 2009
    Kimberly M. Coalson
    L. Nichole Manz
  • 2008
    Elaine M. Henry
    Debra A. Oglesby
  • 2007
    Kelley M. Hatch (Coca-Cola New Century Scholar for Tennessee)
    Caleb P. Pearson
  • 2006
    Christina M. Huffines
    Sean P. Rupley
  • 2005
    Erika M. Adams
    Tracy L. Mantell
  • 2004
    Brian E. Moody
    Jason E. Tipton
  • 2003
    Rhonda G. Castle
    Lydia R. Prior
  • 2002
    David W. Buchanan
    Pamela A. Echols
  • 2001
    Leigh M. Fox
    Jacqueline R. Robinson
  • 2000
    Marsha H. Elam
    Elizabeth C. Nicely
  • 1999
    Anthony M. Lewis
    Alvin L. Murphy
  • 1998
    Michaela C. Boggs
    Joyce Lawson Noto
  • 1997
    F. Arlene Miles
    Marie M. Sandidge
  • 1996
    John P. Forbes
    Kristen E. Rudder
  • 1995
    Robert W. Wagner

Northeast State honors its Most Distinguished Faculty, Administrative/Professional, and Support Staff members with awards presented annually at the Honors Convocation ceremony in April. The Distinguished Staff Awards recognize employees who demonstrate excellence in teaching and service that impacts the College and the student body. Staff members who meet eligibility criteria are nominated by students or fellow employees. The recipients of the awards are selected by the Distinguished Staff Awards Committee. 

Award recipients include:

Year Faculty Administrative Support Staff
2017-18   Richard Merritt James Henrichs John Adcox
2016-17   Charles Charlton Chris Hitechew Melissa Brickey
2015-16  Tempi Hale Jennifer Starling  Dottie Corey
2014-15 David Haga Malissa Trent Debra Johnson
2013-14 Brent Lockhart Patricia Chandler Mike Collins
2012-13 Jim Kelly Sandra Gardner David Lewis
2011-12 Ed Osborne Nancy Forrester Erin Blevins
2010-11 Connie Marshall Chris Lefler Brenda Denton
2009-10 Garry Grau Josh Crowder Angela Huddle